Meet The Team

The Connaught Fund is managed by a committee made up of members of the university’s governing council, senior administrators and other representatives of the university community.


Connaught Committee


Vivek Goel

Professor Vivek Goel was appointed Vice President, Research and Innovation of the University of Toronto in December, 2014. Professor Goel is a distinguished scholar with an extensive background in teaching, research read more

Vice-Provost of Academic Programs

As Vice-Provost of Academic Programs, Professor Sioban Nelson leads the University’s Quality Assurance Process for undergraduate and graduate programs, working closely with all our faculties and schools and with other read more

Dean, School of Graduate Studies

Dr. Joshua Barker is Dean of the School of Graduate Studies and Vice-Provost, Graduate Research and Education at the University of Toronto. Previously, he has served as Acting Chair of read more

Representing the University Research Community

Ariana Bradford is Director, Strategic Planning & Operations for the University of Toronto’s Medicine by Design initiative. Previously she was Director, Custom Programs, at the Rotman School of Management where read more

Social Sciences Representative

For the past 20 years, Dr. Barbara Fallon has worked to bridge that knowledge gap by collecting reliable national and provincial child welfare data across Canada and mining it with read more

Life Sciences Representative

Dr. Lucy Osborne received her doctoral degree from The University of London, England and completed post-doctoral training in human genetics with Prof. Lap-Chee Tsui at the Hospital for Sick Children. read more

Humanities Representative

Mohan Matthen is Canada Research Chair in the Philosophy of Perception at the University of Toronto Mississauga. He was born in India and educated at St Stephen’s College, Delhi and read more

Physical Sciences Representative

Kimberly Strong has been a Physics Professor at the University of Toronto since 1996, and was appointed inaugural Director of the University’s School of the Environment in 2013.  She earned read more

Connaught Review College

The Connaught Secretariat thanks the following individuals who are serving on the Connaught Review College in the 2017-18 academic year



Nicholas Terpstra, Chair, History
Srilata Raman, Member, Religion
Neil ten Kortenaar, Member, English, UTSC
Antje Budde, Member, Centre for Drama, Theatre & Performing Arts

Life Science (Epidemiology & Health Outcomes)

Stephanie Nixon, Chair, Physical Therapy
Arjumand Siddiqi, Member, Public Health
Carles Muntaner, Member, Nursing
France Gagnon, Member, Dalla Lana School of Public Health

Life Sciences (Molecular, Cellular & Integrative Biology)

Robert Gerlai, Chair, Psychology, UTM
Jun Liu, Member, Molecular Genetics
Marie-Josée Fortin, Member, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
Denise Belsham, Member, Physiology

Physical Sciences & Engineering

David Zingg, Chair, UTIAS
Robert Jerrard, Member, Mathematics
David McMillen, Member, Chemistry
Yu Sun, Member, MIE

Social Sciences

Todd Sanders, Chair, Anthropology, UTM
Mara Lederman, Member, Management
Creso Sa, Member, OISE
Lucan Way, Member, Political Science, UTSC
Xianwen Shi, Member, Economics


Global Challenge Award

Connaught Secretariat

Program Director

A nationally recognized leader in post-secondary research funding and administration, Judith Chadwick oversees U of T’s Research Services team and serves as Chief Administrative Officer for the Division of the read more

Secretary to the Connaught Committee

Mike Folinas is Secretary to the Connaught Committee, and manages the day-to-day administration of the Committee, the Connaught Review College and the Connaught Fund programs. Mike is also Research Funding Manager read more