Professor Leah Cowen sitting speaking at a board room table to large crowd.


The Connaught Fund is managed by a committee made up of members of the university’s governing council, senior administrators and other representatives of the university community.

Connaught Committee Members


Professor Leah Cowen

Committee Chair
Vice-President, Research & Innovation, and Strategic Initiatives.


Professor Joshua Barker

Dean, School of Graduate Studies
Vice-Provost, Research & Education


Professor Kenneth S. Corts

Senior Administration Representative
Vice-Dean, Research, Strategy, and Resources, Joseph L. Rotman School of Management


Professor Barbara Fallon

Senior Administration Representative
Associate Vice-President, Research


Professor Renée Hložek

Physical Sciences Representative
David A. Dunlap Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics


Professor Thy Phu

Humanities Representative
Department of Arts, Culture, and Media, UTSC


Professor Creso Sá

Social Sciences Representative
Department of Leadership, Higher & Adult Education


Professor Iva Zovkic

Life Sciences Representative
Department of Psychology, UTM


Jane Zhao

University Research Community Representative
Graduate Student, Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation

Connaught Review College

The Connaught Secretariat thanks the following individuals who are serving on the Connaught Review College in the 2023-24 academic year.

Membership of Connaught Disciplinary Panels


  • Joshua Pilzer, Faculty of Music
  • Marieme Lo, Women & Gender Institute
  • T. Nikki Cesare Schotzko, Centre for Drama, Theatre & Performance Studies
  • Dana Seitler, English; Director, Centre for Sexual Diversity Studies
  • Meghan Sutherland, Visual Studies / Cinema Studies Institute
  • Imogen Dickie, Philosophy

Physical Sciences & Engineering

  • Frank Wania, Physical & Environmental Sciences (UTSC)
  • Jane Howe, Materials Science & Engineering
  • Natalie Enright Jerger, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Mary Pugh, Mathematics
  • Marney Isaac, Physical & Environmental Sciences (UTSC)
  • Oya Mercan, Civil & Mineral Engineering
  • Angela Demke Brown, Computer Science
  • Élyse Caron-Beaudoin, Health & Society (UTSC)

Life Sciences (Molecular, Cellular & Integrative Biology)

  • Siew-Ging Gong, Faculty of Dentistry
  • Julie Claycomb, Molecular Genetics
  • Melissa Holmes, Psychology (UTM)
  • John Calarco, Cell & Systems Biology

Life Sciences (Social, Cultural, Environmental & Population Health Research)

  • Alison Thompson, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Jill Cameron, Occupational Science & Occupational Therapy
  • Daniel Sellen, Anthropology
  • Lori Ross, Dalla Lana School of Public Health

Social Sciences

  • Andrea Charise, Health and Society (UTSC)
  • Feng Chen, Management (UTM)
  • Shari Eli, Economics
  • John Hannigan, Sociology (UTSC)
  • Paula Maurutto, Sociology (UTM)
  • Judith Teichman, Political Science (UTSC)
  • Francine Menashy, Leadership, Higher & Adult Education
  • Amal Madibbo, Social Justice Education
  • Caroline Shenaz Hossein, Global Development Studies (UTSC)

Connaught Secretariat

Headshot of Judith Chadwick

Judith Chadwick

Program Director
Assistant Vice-President, Research Services

Jeremy Knight, Director, Research Development
Michael Hussey, Research Funding Manager, Internal Programs
Cheryl Nash, Research Funding Officer